Makeup Collection 2016: Primers, Foundations, & Concealers

dsc_0450-4-2dsc_0455-4-2dsc_0461-3-2-2dsc_0463-3-2dsc_0468-3-2

I have decided to start a series to share with yall what is in my makeup collection! This first post is going to be my primers, concealers, and foundations. I’ve been working on using up the products that are close to empty but I wanted to get this post up before I did that so you would know what my favorites really are!

Starting with primers I have actually increased this part of my collection quite a bit recently! Before I apply my primer I start with my Elta MD UV Clear Broad Spectrum Sunscreen. My all time favorite primer is the Becca Backlight Priming Filter. Up next is the Too Faced Hangover Replenishing Hydrating Primer. When I had more of an oily skin problem I would use the Soap & Glory One Heck of a Blot Primer, but my skin is more on the dry side currently so it hasn’t gotten very much use recently. I new drugstore primer I have been trying out is the NYX Angel Veil Primer. The first time I tried it I didn’t notice much of a difference, but when I layer it over my Too Faced Primer my foundation looks absolutely flawless… I’m loving it more and more lately. The last primer in the photo I transferred into a travel container. It is the Nivea Men’s Post Shave Balm which if you have seen it comes in quite a big container so I made it more travel-friendly.

I didn’t actually realize I had so many concealers until I gathered them all up. One of them is a color correcting concealer from NYX that I use when I have red spots that I need to tone down the redness with. The other drugstore concealers I have include the Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Concealer that I am working on using up at the moment, the Maybelline Better Skin Concealer that I use on any spots since it matches my skin tone, and the Collection Lasting Perfection Concealer that I picked up in London over the summer. My high-end concealers include the new Smashbox Studio Skin Waterproof Concealer that I just recently picked up, the Urban Decay Naked Skin Concealer that I actually just finished up this past week, and the Mac Pro Longwear Concealer that is my all-time favorite concealer!

I split my foundations into three categories. The first of which is my lighter coverage foundations/tinted moisturizers/stick foundations. The newest of these is the Anastasia Beverly Hills Stick Foundation which I wasn’t super impressed with but the more I use it the more I love it. Next up are the foundations I use more in the summer because I want a lighter coverage. That includes that Laura Mercier Tinted Moisturizer, Clinique Chubby in the Nude Foundation Stick, and the Mac Face & Body Foundation.

The next category is more drugstore foundations. Two of the foundations are from L’oreal: the Infallible Pro-Matte and the Infallible Pro-Glow. I am actually liking the Pro-Glow more at the moment since my skin is drier than usual but they are both my favorite drugstore foundations. The last drugstore foundation I have is the Maybelline Dream Velvet Foundation. I haven’t used it in a while so I’m not quite sure if I still like it or not.

The last and largest category is the high-end foundations. This category has doubled in the last couple months because I have really been wanting to try more foundations. The newest one is the Smashbox Studio Skin 15 Hour Wear Foundation, which I am liking way more than I thought I would. The next two that I recently added to my collection I actually just reviewed in a different post. They are the Clinique Beyond Perfection Foundation + Concealer and the Urban Decay All Nighter Foundation. The full coverage foundation that I use during the summer when I need something full coverage and heat resistant is the Estee Lauder Double Wear Foundation. And lastly, one I need to use more often because it really is a great foundation is the Fiona Stiles Luminous Finish Foundation.

With the number of products I have, I have really been focusing on rotating the use so that everything gets used. I also really try to use up a product once it gets low before I toss it! Currently, I’m trying to use a concealer, primer, and foundation that are really low just to lighten up my collection a little. Really there is no reason for a normal person to have as much makeup as I do unless you love makeup as much as I do! I’d love to know if you would want reviews on any of these products or what you think of them and any product suggestions based on what I own now!

Leave a Reply

