Which Liquid Lipstick is Right for You?

DSC_0471-3

Liquid lipsticks are becoming more and more popular and for good reasons! They are very pigmented and very long lasting. This means that there is less up keep while wearing a liquid lipstick as compared to a regular lipstick. Almost every brand has there own liquid lipstick formula. Some even have more than one formula whick makes it very hard to decide which brand to go with. I have my own assortment of various liquid lipsticks as shown above. Now this isn’t all the color I own of each kind but it is to give you an idea of all the brands I have tried. To help out those who are trying to decide which one to buy I thought I’d compare all the ones that I own.

Starting with the drugstore, these liquid lipsticks range from $6 to $10:

NYX Soft Matte Lip Creams: These were the very first liquid lipstick type product I tried. I wouldn’t say now that they are really liquid lipsticks with their cream/mousse type texture. However, they do last longer than a lot of lipsticks I have tried and they are matte like most liquid lipsticks. One thing they aren’t is drying on your lips which can be a problem for some when it comes to certain liquid lipsticks. These are your cheapest option and most of the time you can find a buy one get one 50% off or free at an Ulta. If you are just dipping your toes into the liquid lipstick pool I would go with these or the next ones I’m going to talk about.

NYX Liquid Suede Cream Lipsticks: If I had to pick between these and the Soft Matte Lip Creams I would go with these. They are a couple more dollars in terms of price but they also last longer and are more like the classic liquid lipstick formula. Unfortunately, this causes them to be a bit drying, but nothing a layer of chapstick before application can’t fix. This is my favorite drugstore liquid lipstick that you can get in a store. Again, Ulta is always having a sale on NYX products so wait for a sale and you can get them even cheaper!

Ulta Matte Lip Cream: I only have one of the Ulta Liquid Lipsticks and I don’t really wear it that often. I kept it because I don’t have any other liquid lipstick that color, but the color is also the reason I almost never wear it. I should probably just give it to someone who would actually wear it… There is nothing wrong with the formula, it is just as good as the NYX Liquid Suede maybe a bit more drying than them but nothing horrible. Definitely, a good budget option at around $10 per lipstick. Ulta is always having a sale so you can usually get them cheaper!

Colourpop Ultra Satin Lips: This is my favorite budget option for liquid lipsticks. I like that they aren’t completely matte and that they aren’t as drying as their matte counterpart. The shade range is wonderful and they can last me through several meals before I have to touch-up anything. The best thing is that they are only $6!

Colourpop Ultra Matte Lips: The matte formula is my runner ups for budget liquid lipsticks. They last just as long as any high-end liquid lipstick and they come in tons of colors, however, they are really drying and if you already have dry chapped lips you cannot wear these without them looking bad and emphasizing your dry lips. On the other hand, if you can keep your lips moisturized and scrub them beforehand, these look amazing and are the longest lasting I have found for a budget option.

Next up is the higher priced brands, they range from $18 to $25:

Stila Stay All Day Liquid Lipsticks: These were the first higher-end liquid lipsticks I tried. I purchased their mini holiday sets so I could try out the liquid lipsticks everyone raves about without paying the $24 price tag for just one of them. I definitely think this is the way to go with these liquid lipsticks. They are wonderful, not super drying, very long lasting and super pigmented. However, they are not worth the price tag so I would say unless you are in love with a particular color, buy these when they come out as mini sets.

Anastasia Beverly Hills Liquid Lipsticks: The Anastasia Liquid Lipsticks are the most expensive liquid lipsticks that I pay full price for at $20. Mainly, because of the formula and the color range. They last longer than any other liquid lipstick I have, yes, they are more drying, but my lips can handle it fine with a bit of chapstick. I only have three shades, but those three shades are my favorite liquid lipsticks I own.

BareMinerals Gen Nude Matte Liquid Lips: The newest addition to my liquid lipstick family and the most recently released, these liquid lipsticks stand out from the others. They tie with the Anastasia liquid lipsticks for me. I can’t pick one over the other because the formulas are so different. The BareMinerals liquid lips don’t really dry all the way, but they aren’t tacky or sticky either. Due to this, they are not at all drying. They are the most comfortable liquid lipstick I have ever tried. Nevertheless, their lasting power is still really good for not drying completely or being completely matte.

Honestly, I have to make myself wear other lipsticks because I love all of my liquid lipsticks so much. The ease of only having apply them once or twice throughout the day really pleases my laziness and the pigment in all of them makes my inner beauty guru happy! I hoped this helped some of yall make some decisions on what liquid lipsticks you may like the most! I’m always up to try new makeup especially lip products so if you have any suggestions please let me know.

 

2 thoughts on “Which Liquid Lipstick is Right for You?

Leave a Reply

