Back From the 80’s

DSC_0205 DSC_0207 DSC_0213 DSC_0214

In a town near ours there is a thrift store type place that has booths that people like my mom can rent and put stuff she wants to sell in. It probably has like ten different booths. I love going with her when she takes new items to sell because I get to check out what all the other booths have. On a recent trip these old black Levi’s caught my eye. They were the perfect waist size for me so I thought “Hey! I could make these into some awesome high waisted shorts!” The best thing about them is that they were only one dollar! Yes! One dollar! Uno dollar! I couldn’t believe it.

As soon as I got home I got to work. The first thing I did was decide how short I wanted them. I figured the safe option would be to cut them long and then go from there so the first cut I made was right under the length of the front pockets.

DSC_0219 DSC_0220

Bye! Bye! pants legs and Hello! Kayla’s legs!

DSC_0221 DSC_0223

When I tried them on they were definitely longer than I wanted. I have shorter legs and they made my legs look even shorter. Not good. So from here I had to really think about what I wanted to do. Did I want to try another cut and risk ruining them or did I want to go the safe route and just roll them up? Since this is my first pair I have ever done myself I decided to go with the safe option. Let’s Roll!

DSC_0224 DSC_0226

DSC_0227 DSC_0228

This was definitely the right decision! Just two rolls on each side and they were the perfect length! I am officially in love with these shorts! They are just like the high waisted shorts that Urban Renewal sells on Urban Outfitters that I have bought many a time except with these I saved about $39-$54. The Urban Renewal shorts cost anywhere from $40-$55. My shorts only cost me one dollar. I have to say that I will definitely be going to check out the booths more often instead of dropping another $40-$50 on a pair from Urban Renewal!

Leave a Reply

