My Self Tanning Experience

DSC_0081 DSC_0080

Let’s just start off with saying I am in no way a self tanning expert, at all. Last year I tried a spray self tan and my feet turned orange… After that I decided I was done. This summer I haven’t had enough time to lay out and get a natural tan so I decided to try self tanning again. This time I stayed away from any kind of spray products.

The first product I tried was the Jergen’s Natural Glow 3 Days to Glow in Medium to Tan. This product is a cream colored lotion. To apply, I shower and exfoliate then I apply this all over where I want a tan with my hands. Immediately after I was my hands for like two minutes to be sure that I won’t turn orange. After I’m done applying I wait for it to completely dry before I put on my pjs and get into bed. This usually takes about ten minutes. The next day I just see a slight bit of warmth. A note on the smell, even though it says there is no tanning smell there is definitely enough of a smell to take notice and want a shower, in my opinion. Over three day continuous application I am successfully a shade darker. I kept up with this routine for the first half of the summer.

That was until I spotted the Jergen’s Natural Glow Instant Sun Sunless Tanning Mousse in Deep Bronze. I thought if I can do a lotion then why not take it up a notch and try a real mousse that will give me instant results? So I bought it. The first time I used this I followed the same routine. I showered and exfoliated then I applied all over with my hands. I love how the mousse has a color guide so you can see where you apply and the spots you missed. The one mistake I made was not washing my hands between each body part. I let the mousse build up on my hands. I had to scrub and exfoliate my hands for a good five minutes to ensure that I wouldn’t have orange hands the next day. After I finished my application it took about ten to fifteen minutes to dry. I then put on my pjs and went to bed. There was about the same amount of sunless tanning smell in the mousse as there was in the lotion. My color the next day was amazing! There was no orange anywhere. No streaks. It was smooth and flawless. I felt like a bronze goddess! The best thing about this sunless tanner is that it faded completely evenly over the week. It lasted about five to six days, which I thought was a great length for a new product.

My new routine is to tan with the Jergen’s Natural Glow Instant Sun Sunless Tanning Mousse once a week and then towards the end when it’s starting to fade just top it off with the Jergen’s Natural Glow 3 Days to Glow Medium to Tan lotion. So far this seems to be the perfect tanning routine for me!

If you are looking for a way to get into sunless tanning I definitely suggest a gradual tanner to start off with! From there you can experiment with mousses or lotions until you find your perfect fit! Maybe your find your own inner bronze goddess!

Leave a Reply

