June’s Yoga Pose: The Head Stand

Screen Shot 2015-06-13 at 9.43.29 AM I have set a goal this month. To work on my yoga inversions. I decided on the headstand pose because it seemed like a good starting pose and Yoga with Adriene had an amazing step by step video on the Head Stand Yoga Pose- How To Do A Head Stand For Beginners.

The video takes you through the foundation you need to be able to safely perform this yoga pose. As I watched the video for the first time I was in shock of how easily she was able to do this pose. I knew that was the level I wanted to be at. Throughout the video she breaks down the pose into steps. These steps you can do all at once if you are a move advanced yogi or for beginners like me you can split up to slowly build the strength you need for this pose. I love how she will stop and take a break in between the steps. It is the perfect way to build strength in this pose. So my journey began.

I started my focus on the first couple of steps of strengthening my shoulders and arms since that is where most of my weight will be balanced. After gaining some strength I began to alternate pulling one leg up at a time. I added these strengthening poses to the end of the practice I had done that day, kind of as a warm up for my muscles. I think this is what really helped me in the long run. It took me only about three days to be able to hold both my feet off the ground for a breath or two. Next thing I know, a couple of days later and I was in a full headstand. I can hold the pose on average about three to four breathes now. I was completely ecstatic when I hit the pose for the first time.

Screen Shot 2015-06-17 at 8.47.33 AM Screen Shot 2015-06-17 at 8.48.05 AM

I thought to myself, I can really do this. I wondered what else I could accomplish if I followed the foundational steps just like I did here.I have a growing love for inversions now and I see it really growing in the future as I focus on my foundation and work my way to whatever pose I may want to achieve in my practice. It’s really relaxing when you are in headstand and you bring yourself back to your intentions. Yoga is not about getting down all the cool poses. For me yoga is about finding my happy place and washing away the stress of the day and focusing on the sensations in your body and what your body is telling you.

Leave a Reply

