Monthly Recipe: Black Bean and Corn Salsa

Black beans and corn are amazing together. That is a fact. Now add in cilantro and you have a winning combination any day of the week. The need for this recipe came from my dad’s obsession tacos. I was looking at what we had in the pantry for something to go with the tacos and I saw that winning combination of black bean and corn. I instantly remember seeing a salsa that had black beans and corn in it on Pinterest. I pull it up and there in front of me is a beautiful looking recipe. The site I got it from is food.com it is titled Yet Another Black Bean and Corn Salsa.

Here is the recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 2 cans (8 ounce) of Rotel tomatoes & chilies (I just use one can because my little brother isn’t a fan of tomatoes)
  • 1 can (14 ounce) of Mexican-style corn (I just use regular corn because that is what I keep in the pantry)
  • 1 can (16 ounce) of black beans
  • 1 can (4 ounce) of green chilies (optional) (I don’t like the taste of green chilies so I leave them out)
  • 1 cup diced sweet onion
  • 1/2 cup of coarsely chopped fresh cilantro (I always use fresh. I love the flavor of cilantro. The more the merrier.)
  • dried cilantro, if you don’t use fresh
  • (On the “to taste” spices, I let my dad add these because I have no idea what they taste like or how much to add)
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • garlic powder, to taste
  • chili powder, to taste
  • cumin, to taste

Directions:

  1. Except for one can of the Rotel tomatoes, drain the corn and black beans.
  2. Mix together all ingredients, making sure spices are all blended in.
  3. Refrigerate, allowing all the delicious flavors to blend.
  4. Serve! My favorite ways are just with chips or on my dad’s tacos

Now for the best part… the pictures of beautiful food!

DSC_0051 DSC_0052 DSC_0053 DSC_0056 DSC_0059

Leave a Reply

